CALL US: (352) 265-4357
Louis Solomon, M.D.

Louis Solomon, M.D. - Background

(352) 265-4357

Request an Appointment


Louis Solomon, M.D. is a clinical assistant professor in the University of Florida College of Medicine Department of Psychiatry.

Ideally suited for chief of brain stimulation, Dr. Solomon is both a psychiatrist and neurosurgeon and has an extensive background in neuroanatomy and neuroscience. Dr. Solomon believes electroconvulsive therapy (ECT), transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) and deep brain stimulation (DBS) are treatments that have changed the face of psychiatry. TMS is an outpatient treatment proven effective in treating depressive illness. Patients with major depressive disorder (MDD) who have not completely responded to one or more antidepressants are ideal patients for TMS.

ECT has been much improved and continues to be used safely and effectively at UF. DBS has been used experimentally at UF for Parkinson's Disease and other movement disorders, OCD and trials are expected in depression. Dr. Solomon is an exemplary psychiatrist who is very active in the community volunteering as a physician and psychiatrist at the Helping Hands free clinic and elsewhere. He helps 'student doctors' understand that psychiatry is a science but also an art built through experience. Trainees participate in the management of patients and can see that psychiatric treatments can be very effective.


Medical School
University of Maryland

University of Maryland

University of Florida

University of Utah
Pediatric Neurosurgery

University of Florida
Addiction Medicine

Board Certifications

  • Psychiatry
  • Addiction Medicine

Honors and Awards

  • Dr. Solomon is a recipient of the Society of Teaching Scholars Outstanding Resident Teacher Award and the John Adams Award for excellence and mentoring. He was also awarded an Exemplary Teacher and Education Incentive Award for 2010-2011.
  • AOA, University of Maryland School of Medicine 1978
  • John Adams award, University of Florida Dept. of Psychiatry 2003-2004
  • Society of Teaching Scholars Outstanding Resident Teacher Award 2006