Surgeon General honors UF contributors to state's trauma plan

Florida Surgeon General Ana M. Viamonte Ros, M.D., M.P.H., recently recognized seven faculty members from UF's Gainesville and Jacksonville medical campuses for their leadership in implementing the Florida Trauma Strategic Plan. The Florida Trauma Strategic Plan is designed to sustain the state's trauma system and to ensure a high level of medical readiness for disasters.

Gainesville-based surgeons John H. Armstrong, M.D., an assistant professor and assistant director of trauma services; Lawrence Lottenberg, M.D. an associate professor and trauma medical director; and David W. Mozingo, M.D., a professor and director of the Shands Burn Center at UF, were each honored with an Award of Excellence during the Florida State Committee on Trauma meeting held last month. This honor was also received by Jacksonville-based faculty members Eric R. Frykberg, M.D., a professor and chief of general surgery; Andrew J. Kerwin, M.D., an associate professor of surgery; Joseph J. Tepas, III, M.D., a professor and chief of pediatric surgery; and Pam Pieper, M.S.N., A.R.N.P., a clinical associate professor of nursing who works with the division of pediatric surgery.