Skip to main content
Update Location

My Location

Update your location to show providers, locations, and services closest to you.

Enter a zip code
Select a campus/region

UF Health names interim chair of anesthesiology

Gregory Janelle

Gregory M. Janelle, M.D., FASE, FASA, has been appointed interim chair of the department of anesthesiology in the University of Florida College of Medicine.

“For nearly three decades, Dr. Janelle has been an exemplary leader in the department of anesthesiology,” said Colleen Koch, M.D., M.S., M.B.A., dean of the college and the Folke H. Peterson Dean’s Distinguished Professor. “With his exceptional achievements as an educator, researcher and clinician, he is the ideal person to serve in this interim role.”

In his new role, Janelle will provide leadership for anesthesiology’s residency and fellowship programs, interdisciplinary research programs and clinical services, and will oversee faculty development and administrative affairs.

Janelle came to UF in 1994 after receiving his bachelor’s and medical degrees through a six-year program at Boston University School of Medicine. He was a resident in anesthesiology at UF, serving his senior year as chief resident prior to completing a fellowship in cardiothoracic anesthesiology.

He has held numerous leadership positions within the College of Medicine and the department of anesthesiology. After serving for 13 years as the division chief of cardiothoracic anesthesiology, he has contributed to the department’s senior leadership as the associate chair for clinical affairs. He was recognized with a joint appointment to the department of surgery in 2004, and subsequently promoted to professor in 2015.

In addition to specializing in adult and pediatric cardiac anesthesia, his interests include perioperative transesophageal echocardiography, thoracic aortic surgery, bloodless surgery and physiology in extreme environments. He participated as a member of the NASA Medical Support Team for the shuttle program from 1997 until the program was retired, including assignment as team leader for several missions. He has pursued multiple levels of advance and technical scuba certification and also obtained Dive Medicine Advisory Committee certification.

Janelle has consistently received national funding for his research, including from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, the I Heermann Anesthesia Foundation and NASA. He serves in numerous leadership and committee roles for the American Society of Anesthesiology, the American Board of Anesthesiology, the National Board of Echocardiography and the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiology. He has been awarded the honorific of Fellow of the American Society of Anesthesiology and Fellow of the American Society of Echocardiography in recognition of his educational achievements and his service to these professional organizations.

Media contact: Gary Mans at, 352-265-9406

About the author

Gary Mans
Assistant Vice President of External Communications

For the media

Media contact

Matt Walker
Media Relations Coordinator (352) 265-8395