UF Health Jacksonville Medical Records
- UF Health Jacksonville Medical Request Form (PDF)
- 655 W. 8th Street
Jacksonville, Florida 32209
- Tel: (904) 244-2596 or 2597
- Fax: (904) 244-3165 or 3360
Medical Record Access and Fees
You may review your medical record by appointment only. The review fee is $25.00 per hour. Under Florida law you may be charged a fee of up to $1.00 per page (plus applicable tax and handling) for every page copied. You can save money by asking for specific documents or a record abstract (all recent major reports) rather than the entire record. The copying fee is waived for copies provided directly to a healthcare provider for continuing medical care. Most record requests are fulfilled within 5 to 7 business days.
Medical Records Consent
Your record is the physical property of the hospital. However, the patient controls the release of the information contained in the record. Consent to access medical records must be less than one year old. In general, you must give permission for anyone, other than a member of your healthcare team, to have access to your medical record. By law, your records may be disclosed without your permission under certain circumstances such as in response to a subpoena or court order, to certain government and regulatory bodies, to someone who holds your power of attorney, to someone you have designated as your healthcare surrogate, to another healthcare provider for continued care, and to your healthcare insurer to obtain reimbursement for your care.
By law, only the adult (age 18 or older) patient or a legally designated representative has the authority to release the information contained in a medical record about them, regardless of who is paying the bills. Legally designated representatives include court-appointed guardians or others with power of attorney for the patient. For children under age 18, only a parent or court appointed guardian may authorize release of medical information.
The next of kin or personal representative of the estate may request those records. It may be necessary to verify that the patient has actually died and the identity of the next of kin. By Florida law, medical records must be retained for a minimum of eight years. Most records are retained longer.
If you suspect that someone is looking at your medical record without your permission, you should report this to the privacy officer appointed by your health care provider.
- For UF Health Shands Hospitals, call the Privacy Office at 352-627-9050.
- For UF Health Physicians Clinics, call the UF Privacy Office at 1-866-876-4472.